PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

To Your Case.

Serving Northern Virginia
Since 1995

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » Leaving The Scene Of An Accident/Hit-And-Run

Providing Skilled Counsel After You Have Left The Scene Of An Accident

If you were involved in a hit-and-run accident — even if you have not been charged — it is essential that you speak with one of our attorneys at the MacDowell Law Group, P.C., as soon as possible. We have provided immediate, useful legal advice to people who were involved in an accident within an hour of calling us.

Perhaps you do not have insurance. Perhaps you were simply frightened or overwhelmed by the situation. Perhaps you simply did not want to be arrested. Whatever the circumstances, we will listen to your side without passing judgment. Together, we will discuss your options and decide on the next steps.

Hit-And-Run Under Virginia Law

The law in Virginia looks at whether the accident involved only unattended property (such as a parked car or a fence) or attended property (such as an occupied vehicle). Your duties under Virginia law differ slightly depending on the type of accident, but generally, an accident will be considered a hit-and-run if you leave the scene and:

  • You do not check on any other people involved in the accident
  • You do not attempt to contact the owner of the car or another property that you hit
  • You fail to notify police within 24 hours of the accident
  • You did not exchange certain information (e.g., name, address, driver license number, and vehicle registration number) with the other party involved

Potential punishments differ depending on the type of accident, whether the other car’s occupants were injured and whether the amount of damage exceeds $1,000. It may be possible to be charged with a Class 5 felony that carries up to 10 years in prison and $2,500 in fines. Less severe accidents still carry up to one year in jail, heavy fines and suspension of your driver’s license. With so much at stake, it is important to get qualified legal representation from MacDowell Law Group, P.C., for serious criminal matters.

An Aggressive Defense Against Criminal Charges

The Commonwealth of Virginia treats these accidents seriously, but that does not mean that the situation is hopeless. Our criminal defense lawyers have decades of experience defending people against various traffic violations, including leaving the scene of an accident. As part of building an aggressive defense, we will thoroughly investigate your accident, challenge the prosecution’s evidence, identify any contributing medical conditions and determine the full extent of any damage caused by the accident.

Contact Our Lawyers To Find Out How They Can Defend Against Hit-And-Run Accident Penalties In Virginia

We understand how prosecutors think. Our founder, attorney Richard MacDowell, is a former Virginia prosecutor. We will put our knowledge and experience to work as we attempt to negotiate an agreement to dismiss or reduce the charges you may be facing.

Waiting to get help may only make your situation worse. Contact our Fairfax hit-and-run defense attorneys online or dial 571-748-5647 to arrange a FREE initial consultation to discuss your case.