PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

To Your Case.

Serving Northern Virginia
Since 1995

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. DUI/DWI — Drunk Driving
  4.  » Underage DUI Offenses

Advocating For Minors Charged With DUI Offenses

Virginia has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking and driving. A person who is under 21 years old can be convicted of a DUI if a blood or breath test shows an alcohol content as low as .02, in contrast to the legal limit of .08. A conviction can result in severe penalties, as well as a criminal record that can make it difficult to find employment, qualify for loans and impact other areas of a young person’s life.

That is why having skilled legal representation in your corner is so critical. At the MacDowell Law Group, P.C., our criminal defense lawyers will work hard to help minimize the potential consequences of this charge.

If you or your child is facing charges involving underage drinking and driving, we are the qualified advocates you want on your side. Connect with our Fairfax firm over the phone at 571-748-5647 today.

Penalties For Underage Drunk Driving

The penalties for underage drunk driving are different than those for individuals who are 21 years of age or older. Any amount of alcohol in the blood can prove costly. A DUI/DWI conviction for minors with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 to .07 involve serious penalties, including:

  • Driver’s license suspension of one year, although it may be possible to get a restricted license for essential activities
  • A mandatory minimum fine of up to $500, or a mandatory minimum of 50 hours of community service
  • Possible probation and the successful completion of an alcohol program

A BAC of .08 or higher will result in a more serious DUI/DWI charge that may be treated as a first-offense DUI/DWI or as a repeat-offense DUI/DWI, if you have a prior conviction. There is no doubt that Virginia will be tough on you. That is why our criminal law attorneys will be tough back. With more than 70 years of collective legal experience, our attorneys know how to build a strong defense.

Experienced And Aggressive Defense

Over the years, the lawyers at MacDowell Law Group, P.C., have learned how prosecutors respond to underage drunk driving allegations and other juvenile offenses. This includes valuable insight from founding attorney Richard MacDowell, a former Virginia prosecutor.

We will thoroughly investigate the charges against you and explore all available defenses. This may include challenging the results of the Breathalyzer test, as well as the officer’s actions both during and after the arrest. When your future is at stake, do not resign yourself to the fate laid out by the prosecution. We can help you fight back with an aggressive defense.

Get Started On Your Case Today. Contact Us Now.

If you or a loved one has been charged with underage drunk driving, we can help. Schedule your FREE case review by emailing us or by calling 571-748-5647.