PLEASE NOTE: To protect your safety in response to the threats of COVID-19, we are offering our clients the ability to meet with us in person, via telephone or video conferencing. Please call our office to discuss your options.

Experienced
Attorneys,
Dedicated
To Your Case.

Serving Northern Virginia
Since 1995

DUIs in Virginia come with serious consequences

| Jul 9, 2020 | Drunk Driving |

No driver is allowed to operate a motor vehicle if they are impaired. This includes individuals who are 21 and can legally consume alcohol as well as those who are younger. There are specific penalties in this state for each group. These penalties are also valid if a driver is impaired due to drugs, medications, alcohol or any combination of those.

A person who is convicted of underage drinking and driving will lose their license for one year. They will have to pay a fine of at least $500 or do at least 50 hours of community service for this misdemeanor. They may also face other penalties, depending on the circumstances of the arrest and case.

Someone who is over 21 years old will also face a driver’s license suspension of at least one year. They can be ordered to go through an alcohol education, assessment and treatment program. Fines, ignition interlock device requirements, vehicle confiscation and time in jail are also possible.

The presence of a drunk driving conviction on your driving record can also increase your insurance premiums and make it difficult for you to hold a job that requires you to operate a vehicle. You may find that other consequences occur based on the circumstances of the case and your life.

Working on your defense strategy is imperative when you’re facing a drunk driving charge. You might be eligible for alternative programs that will reduce the severity of the consequences you face. Discussing the possibilities with your attorney can help you to know what options you have so you can choose the one you feel is in your best interests.