Arrested For Underage Drinking?

The Virginia legislature has passed tough underage drinking laws. A conviction for underage drinking may result in significant criminal and civil penalties, including a driver's license suspension for a period of six to 12 months. The law in Virginia was changed in recent years to expand "under age possession" to allow prosecution for underage consumption, attempted consumption, underage purchase and attempted under age purchase.

Underage possession and drinking are Class 1 misdemeanor offenses. If you plead guilty, you will have a criminal record. If you agree to certain first-offender programs, you will still have a criminal record of the accusation. At MacDowell Law Group, P.C., our attorneys have decades of experience using the law to protect our clients' rights. We have helped many clients who have been arrested on alcohol-related charges, including underage drinking and underage DUI.

Protect Your Record With Skilled Representation

Our attorneys have advocated for thousands of clients in criminal cases. Our founding attorney, Richard MacDowell, is a former prosecutor with over 35 years of legal experience.

Depending on the facts of your case, we will discuss whether you should agree to any first offender program for individuals between 18 and 20. With the first offender program, your case could be continued for dismissal (no criminal conviction). However, some of these programs may prevent you from later seeking an expungement. For our juvenile clients, we are also knowledgeable about alternative dispositions that may be available for juveniles under the age of 18 accused of underage drinking.

Improve Your Legal Options. Contact Our Experienced Lawyers Today.

When you retain us, we will take time to explain your charges, help you understand your options and work diligently to seek the best possible outcome in your case.

Questions about an underage drinking or DUI arrest near George Mason University, in Fairfax County or surrounding areas? To speak with a Virginia criminal defense attorney about an underage drinking charge, contact MacDowell Law Group, P.C., over the phone at 571-748-5647 or via our online form. We offer FREE initial consultations in all criminal defense cases, including those alleging underage possession and drinking.